Red Roof Inn Tallahassee - University Red Roof Inn Tallahassee

2930 Hospitality Street, Tallahassee, FL   Directions
(753 Reviews)
Check in time
Check out time

Ready to book? Give us a call at 1-937-328-1490 .

Hotel Overview

This pet-friendly, family-friendly discount hotel located in Tallahassee, Florida offers flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi. Located just off I-10, this budget-friendly hotel is near Tallahassee Regional Airport (TLH), Valdosta Regional Airport (VLD), Southwest Georgia Regional Airport (ABY) and a Greyhound bus station. The inn is also close to downtown Tallahassee, the State Capitol, the University of Florida, Florida State University and Florida A&M University.

NEED TO SPEAK TO THE FRONT DESK? Call 1-850-385-7884

...Read More

Click here to experience more of Tallahassee.

At the intersection of I-10 and Monroe Street (Exit #199), Red Roof Inn Tallahassee – University is ideally located within five miles of Florida State University, Florida A & M University, Tallahassee Community College, Downtown Tallahassee, the Capital and the Legislature. We’re only one mile from the Tallahassee Mall and movie theaters; within 10 minutes of the antique shops of Havana, FL; and 20 minutes from Quincy, FL. The hotel is also located next door to The Cracker Barrel Restaurant and near several other restaurants featuring, steak, seafood, Chinese, Japanese and American fare. 

Featuring 108 recently updated rooms in two buildings and two floors, our rooms feature direct access from the parking lot, with the convenience of free parking near your entry. Truck and bus parking is also available. The hotel features flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi internet service, free local calls, and free long distance calls within the continental United States. Expanded cable television, including HBO, ESPN, Fox News and CNN as well as pay per view movies, is also offered. Our front desk is open 24 hours to serve you, with fresh brewed coffee and tea in the lobby. Red Roof Inn Tallahassee – University welcomes one well-behaved family pet, without additional charges or deposits. Each guest room includes either one king bed or two double beds. Our superior king rooms also include a refrigerator and microwave as well as an expanded work area. Hair dryers are included in all rooms and Iron's are available at the front desk.

Learn more about Red Roof Inn Tallahassee - University!

Current Deals at this Location

Modify

Room & Rates

Your Search
, ,

Select Location

Special Rate
Radio group
click for terms and conditions

red hot deals® are available below. they're our way of saying

thanks for visiting us!

Advanced Purchase rate is available below. Save on our best available rate when you book your stay in advance. Terms and conditions apply.

Warning!
You selected 0 rooms, but we only have 0 rooms available
Close
No results were found on Detail Page

Key Amenities


Wi-Fi
Kids 17 & Under Stay Free
Pets Stay Free

Hotel Amenities


Value
  • Free Coffee in the Lobby
  • Free Expanded Cable
  • Free Long Distance
Convenience
  • ADA Accessible Parking
  • ADA Accessible Rooms
  • Airport within 10 Miles
  • Portable Cribs Available
  • Restaurant within 1 Mile
  • Snack Center
Transportation
  • Free Parking
  • Limited Bus/Truck Parking Available

Nearby


Attractions
  • Centre of Tallahassee (1.06 mi)
  • Lake Ella Park (2.17 mi)
  • Florida State University (2.91 mi)
  • Doak Campbell Stadium (2.90 mi)
  • Knott House Museum (3.17 mi)
  • Museum of Florida History (3.23 mi)
  • Tallahassee Community College (3.24 mi)
  • Tallahassee Memorial Hospital (3.16 mi)
  • Florida A&M University (3.95 mi)
  • North Florida Fairgrounds (5.58 mi)
Airports
  • Tallahassee International Airport (TLH) (6.32)  mi
Restaurants
  • IHOP (1.33)  mi
  • Canopy Road Cafe (1.71)  mi
  • Wingstop (2.21)  mi
  • Chipotle Mexican Grill (2.24)  mi
  • Cypress Restaurant (2.99)  mi
  • Genghis Grill - Build Your Own Stir Fry (3.72)  mi
  • Bonefish Grill (3.93)  mi
  • Hungry Howie's Pizza (4.22)  mi
  • Sarku Japan (4.38)  mi
  • Tropical Smoothie Cafe (4.40)  mi

TripAdvisor Ratings


Alvin
review-img-alt
January 10, 2018

My wife and I stayed for a little over a week. The staff was friendly Alvin is an outstanding customer service representative. Appreciate the hard work Alvin. Clean rooms, plenty of towels, good coffee. Darren & Sandra Nickols

Needed sleep
review-img-alt
January 04, 2018

We were on our way to New Orleans and needed a stop for the night. Location is great and price is best around by half. The first room stunk so bad we moved. Then the next room had no soap or anything. Rooms are very old and repainted and patched everywhere. Felt very dirty. Only would stay again if had no other cheap option.

Alvin/David
review-img-alt
December 29, 2017

Very nice people in customer service. The environment is very friendly and what is expected in a business. There is plenty privacy and quiet to enjoy while staying there. I appreciate Alvin and David’s service & Red Roof In as a whole for a great stay.

Thanks for a good stay
review-img-alt
December 27, 2017

Our stay here has been very nice. Staff has been super helpful, especially the GM Alvin. They had our room ready early for us and everything was in order. The hotel is right next to the highway, tons of food, and shopping. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you for your hospitality.

Never Had a More TERRIBLE Experience at a Hotel
review-img-alt
December 09, 2017

Where to begin. Our stay at this hotel was, absolutely, horrific. We checked in, went to our assigned room and, as soon as we walked in, the light would not turn on. We went back to the front desk and they gave us another room. We cannot compare this room to our original one, as we could not really see it, but the second one was terrible, and I doubt the first one was any different. For starters, the sheets looked to be a decade old. They were so ragged, they had areas where they were totally see-through. They had yellow spots that I cannot even imagine what they were from, but they were disgusting. One corner of the fitted sheet was broken open, just holding on to the mattress by its elastic, which had lost its elasticity. We went back to the front desk to ask for a new set and they were just as bad. I have included photos of them. The towels were in a ‘little better’ condition than the sheets, but they were still filthy. It was not even a stain dirty, but a dirty that would easily come off if they had actually washed them after the previous guests. Seeing that EVERYTHING was either dilapidated or dirty, we gave up on trying to deal directly with the staff, so we went to a nearby Walmart and bought two flat sheets since we had brought our own pillow cases. We also bought two towels because God only knows who used the ones provided by Red Roof Inn before us. Thankfully, we had brought a pack of disinfecting wipes, so that helped us get a good night’s sleep. We made sure to wipe down everything - from the countertops, to the door knobs, and everything in between. Cleaning the room and buying our own sheets and towels made it a little bit easier to just stay at this hotel for all four nights since, thankfully, the room was basically going to be a place to shower and sleep. We did not want to go through changing hotels and then have to worry about Red Roof Inn charging us a night because we had not ‘canceled’ 24 hours in advance. The bathroom was ok, except a lock would more than come handy. They actually put some kind of metal cap on both door knobs (inside and outside knobs). I guess they would rather have unhappy guests who would appreciate a lock on the bathroom door than having to get their handyman to open an occasional locked door. The water pressure was very weak in the shower and the water only gets to a warm-ish hot temperature. The water in the sink, however, does get scorching hot. We did appreciate having a trash bag in the trash can, though. We have not seen one of those in the last few hotel stays. We stayed four nights at this hotel. Three out of the four, we had to go to the front desk because neither of our two key cards would work. The first night it worked. The next morning after coming back from breakfast, it did not work. I went to the front desk and both clerks who were there figured out that the clerk who checked us in the previous night only checked us in for one night after he switched our rooms. Apparently, he never checked us out of the first room (more on that later) and, on top of that, had us checking out the following morning, when we still had three more nights to go. OK, problem solved, right? Wrong! On the third day, we had to go back to the front desk because, again, our cards were deactivated. Now for the 'more on that later' part. At 3:48 am, someone tried to open our room door. The only reason they were unable to open it all the way was because we had the emergency latch on, therefore, the door only opened up about an inch. As I got up to see who was trying to get in, I heard someone speaking in another language. Thinking it was the cleaning people, I opened the door but, by that time, the people had already walked away. Once I closed the door, I tried calling the front desk, but the clerk hung up on me twice because he could not hear me. Turns out that the cord of the phone in the room was so badly damaged that you could see the cables inside the cord. I had no choice than, at that time in the morning, look for the hotel's main number and call them from my cell phone. I asked the clerk why there would be someone trying to come in our room at that time. He asked me if, by any chance, we had changed rooms, to which I replied, "yes." He, then, said that he “would tell them.” Who "them" was, I had no clue, but he did not even apologize for the incident. The following morning, when we went back to the front desk to get our room key activated again, we figured out that, since the first clerk never changed our room in the system, the next clerk assigned our new room to someone else in the middle of the night. The clerk to whom I spoke to letting him know that someone tried coming in our room was the one that assigned the room to someone else. That our room was not changed in their system, was out of his control, however, I feel that he still should have apologized for the inconvenience. Just as we thought it impossible for the consequences of our unfortunate hotel choice to get any worse, there comes the breakfast matter. Breakfast? What breakfast? There's a Cracker Barrel next door and that is their excuse for not offering free breakfast. That is what the clerk I asked about their breakfast said. "There's a Cracker Barrel next door, so I guess that's why they did it." No, that is NOT the reason. The reason is because they want to give their guests the LEAST they can get away with in order to make the MOST profit possible. The breakfast situation was the cherry on top. At the very least, they should have continental breakfast. I am quite sure that there are unhappy guests out there that would turn a blind eye to at least one dirty towel, in exchange for a free, cheap breakfast. At this point, we sooooooo regretted not paying a little more for another hotel. With the money we spent in sheets, towels, and daily breakfast, we could have stayed at a more decent and comfortable hotel. The only reason that we did not opt to stay at the La Quinta around the same area is because they charge a fee for your pet’s stay, which we are not used to from La Quinta, so we decided against staying there and, unfortunately, fell prey to Red Roof Inn. In hindsight, taking their pet fee AND the few dollars extra for a night’s stay there, we would have broken even and, more importantly, been satisfied. We were urged to leave a review in TripAdvisor by two different clerks who, both, gave us a card with their name and hotel code. The first told us that he was two reviews away from winning $200 in some contest the hotel was having and the second one, who had no idea about no $200 (meaning the first clerk was lying and just wanted us to hurry up and leave a review), assured me that we would not have to go back to the front desk other than two check out. As if their insistence was not enough, the day after we checked out, I received an email from Red Roof Inn letting me know that my feedback is important to them and, the funniest part is…wait for it…where they mention that they value all of their guests. Are you really serious?!? They are SO insistent that we leave our feedback that I am sure that most of the decent reviews left here are because guests feel pressured to do so. There is no way that our room was the only room that had filthy sheets and towels, or that had an armchair that looked as if it was picked up at the dumpster (see photo). I really doubt that to be the case. Their relentless persistence in getting their guests to leave a good review way surpasses their attempt to give you good service that will actually earn them the good review. I would not doubt, for a second, that they have adopted this practice in order to wash out their poor and terrible reviews. They know that having low reviews, especially in TripAdvisor, is not smart business for them so they will try anything to overshadow guests’ bad experiences such as mine. Were it not for the great time that we had touring Tallahassee, what we experienced in this hotel would have ruined our vacation but, thankfully, that was not the case, no thanks to Red Roof Inn. How this particular franchise is allowed to stay in business is beyond my comprehension. As part of Red Roof Inn, are they not audited at all for, at least, the basics? Whatever the answer, I will NEVER stay at a Red Roof Inn again…….

Return To Top
See Terms & Policies

Check-in Age: 18 years or older

Pet Policy: One well-behaved family pet is permitted, at no additional charge. Pet must be declared during guest registration and kept on a leash when outside guest room. In consideration of all guests, pets must never be left unattended in the guest room. When you walk your pet on property, please be considerate and clean up after your pet.



RediCard Members

Close
Forgot your password?
Join Redicard

Start Earning Rewards with Your First Stay

The fastest way to free nights and other rewards!

View all program details

NOT A REDICARD MEMBER?

JOIN REDICARD

Sign In Help

Forgot your username or password? No problem. We can email you information for updating this.

If you need further assistance, please call us at 1-800-733-7663

Contact Information (Optional)


Enter your other contact info now and save time when you book reservations.